Recognizing the Outstanding Work of Our Illinois Tech Faculty

Dear Illinois Tech Colleagues,

Our faculty’s ability to adapt to changing ways of reaching learners inside and outside the classroom has allowed Illinois Tech to continue to grow and extend our world-class education to even more learners. 

In recognition of these efforts, I am honored to share the winners of the 2024 Faculty Teaching Awards. For the first time, we are livestreaming the ceremony on Thursday, April 18, beginning at 4 p.m. so that we can all celebrate the achievements of the following faculty: 

Michael J. Graff Teaching and Advising Innovation Award

Alexander Rabanal, Chicago-Kent College of Law

Bauer Family Undergraduate Teaching Award

Keith Green, Lewis College of Science and Letters

Board of Trustee Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award

Michael Glynn, College of Architecture

The Center for Learning Innovation Digital Teaching Innovation Award

Hannah Ringler, Lewis College of Science and Letters

John W. Rowe Excellence in Teaching Award

Joanne Howard, Stuart School of Business

College Teaching Awards
  • Javad Abbasian, Armour College of Engineering
  • Matthew Bauer, College of Computing
  • Joel Goldhar, Stuart School of Business
  • Alphonso Peluso, College of Architecture
  • Jenifer Robbins, Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Lindsay Sheehan, Lewis College of Science and Letters
  • Martin Thaler, Institute of Design

I would also like to express my appreciation to the faculty and staff members who served as committee members for the teaching awards this year: Christopher Schmidt, Kristina Bauer, Lauren Woods, Won-Jae Yi, Edoarda Corradi Dell’ Acqua, and Krishna Erramilli. 

Outside the classroom, our faculty and students continue to pursue cutting-edge topics with real-world implications through their research endeavors.

To that end, I’m pleased to announce the recipients of the Sigma Xi/Illinois Tech Awards for Excellence in Research:

Junior Faculty Award
  • Mohammad Heidarinejad, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering
  • Weikang Ma, Research Assistant Professor, Department of Biology
Student Research Award
  • Canyu Chen, Department of Computer Science

Please join me in congratulating all our faculty for their excellent and impactful work this academic year, as well as all of our faculty who received university awards or other recognitions. 

I thank you for making the 2023–24 academic year a successful one for our students and other community members!


Kenneth T. Christensen
Provost, Chief Academic Officer, and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs