2012 Alumni Awards: Alumni Medal

Illinois Institute of Technology is proud to announce the winners of the 2012 Alumni Awards.

On April 13, 2012 a luncheon will be held in Hermann Hall to honor the nine winners for their contributions to their professions, to the world, and to IIT. Look for brief biographies on each of these alumni in IIT Today through April 12, 2012.

This year’s winner of the Alumni Medal is Manu K. Vora (M.S. CHE ’68, Ph.D. ’75).  Vora is the Chairman and President of Business Excellence, Inc, a global quality management consulting firm. He has been a volunteer and volunteer leader at IIT in at least six different capacities over the past 20 years. He is the Founding Director and President of Blind Foundation for India, an organization through which he has raised over $3.5 million in order to support over 15 million blind people in India. Among his long list of honors and awards received, Dr. Vora was bestowed the 2011 Ellis Island Medal of Honor, 2010 President’s Call to Service Award, American Society for Quality (ASQ) 2010 Distinguished Service Medal, ASQ 2005 E. Jack Lancaster Medal, and ASQ 2001 Eugene L. Grant Medal. In 2000 he received a Paul Harris Fellow Medal from the Rotary International for his selfless service to blind people in India.