2012 Alumni Awards: Galvin Award

Illinois Institute of Technology is proud to announce the winners of the 2012 Alumni Awards.

On April 13, 2012 a luncheon will be held in Hermann Hall to honor the nine winners for their contributions to their professions, to the world, and to IIT. Look for brief biographies on each of these alumni in IIT Today through April 12, 2012.

This year’s winner of the Galvin Award is Robert C. Pew III. In the spirit of Robert W. Galvin, IIT’s first non-alumnus chair of the board of trustees, this award recognizes non-alumni who provide leadership, time, and resources to make a significant impact on the university. Pew’s passion at IIT is the Institute of Design. He is the founding chairman of the ID Board of Overseers and has served as chairman from 1990—2000 and 2004—present. Pew has secured a lasting relationship between ID and Steelcase by hiring its graduates and supporting two endowed faculty chairs. He is a member of the Philip Danforth Armour Society.