2015 Writing Contest Winners Announced

The results of the 50th Annual Writing Contest, sponsored by Illinois Institute of Technology’s Department of Humanities, are in. Thanks and congratulations to everyone who participated in this historic contest.

Edwin H. Lewis Prize for Fiction
First place: Chun Yan Huang
Title: Life Goes On

Edwin H. Lewis Prize for Non-Fiction
First place: Cindy Xie
Title: To Do

Second place: Cheryl Lininger
Title: The Unconscious Glass Ceiling

Third place: Cara Karter
Title: Decreasing the Expenditure of the United States Prison System

Mollie Cohen Poetry Prize
First place: Sanjin Ibrahimovic
Title: Chicago The Collection

Second place: Saja Hamayel
Title: How I Died

Third place: Reno Waswil
Title: Lifecycle Marketing

Henry Knepler Freshman Essay Prize
First place: Dana Abdullah
Title: Campus Sexual Assault and Patriarchy

Second place: Shameemah Fuseini-Codjue
Title: Catcall Video Goes Viral – A Response

Third place: Sanjin Ibrahimovic
Title: The Ideal Life

A reception for all the entrants, with the awarding of prizes, will be held on Thursday, April 23, 2015, from 12:30-2 p.m. in The McCormick Tribune Campus Center (MTCC) Welcome Center.