2020 Starr/Fieldhouse Research Fellowship Award Announced

Illinois Tech graduate students currently enrolled in  Masters of Science or doctoral programs applied for the Starr/Fieldhouse Research Fellowship. The Starr/Fieldhouse fellowships are made possible through a generous donation from the Starr Foundation, and Illinois Tech’s capital campaign match to honor Irv Fieldhouse, who until his death in 2005 had been an active member of the Illinois Tech/IITRI community for more than 40 years.

Illinois Tech is excited to announce Young Ju Yun as the 2020 Starr/Fieldhouse Research Fellowship recipient. She has been awarded $15,000 for the year. 

Young Ju Yun’s proposal: Energy Upconversion Using Organic Donor-Acceptor Dyads: Synthesis and Photophysical Characterization of the Dyads, features a strong and thorough research plan to collaborate with the Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM) at Argonne National Laboratory.  Her Argonne senior scientist and mentor spoke very highly of her preparation and her speed in learning new concepts.  Ms. Yun has also received recognition for her research in the form of a poster presentation award and two conference grants.