And the Winners Are…

The 2018 Illinois Institute of Technology Alumni Award winners have been chosen. This year, the university is honoring 12 alumni and one civic leader at the annual ceremony on Friday, April 20. Illinois Tech faculty and staff are encouraged to attend the luncheon and presentation of awards in Hermann Hall to celebrate the accomplishments of these distinguished leaders. Tickets are $50 each or $25 for children under 12. Registration will be available soon and is required by Friday, April 13. Visit to learn more.

2018 Alumni Award Winners

Alumni Medal

  • Victor A. Morgenstern (CHE ’64)

Alumni Service Award

  • Michael E. Hill (CS ’82)

Collens Merit Award

  • Joel D. Krauss (MATH ’71)

Galvin Award

  • James E. Cowie

International Award of Merit

  • Victor Y. Tsao (M.S. CS ’80)

John J. Schommer Honor I Award

  • Michael W. Mikula (MET ’91, M.S. MME ’93)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Robert H. “Pete” Bragg II (PHYS ’49, M.S. ’51, Ph.D. ’60)
  • Vice Admiral Diego E. Hernandez, Retired (PSYC ’55)

Outstanding Young Alumnus/Alumna Award

  • Rebecca A. Buchmeier (M.ARCH ’06)
  • Mark S. Haraburda (M.S. FM ’04)
  • Mayank Kashyap (Ph.D. CHE ’10)

Professional Achievement Award

  • Charles J. Carter (Ph.D. CE ’09)
  • Nestor J. Zaluzec (PHYS ’73)