Armour College of Engineering Professor Satish Parulekar Honored with 2016 Ernest W. Thiele Award

parulekar_news.jpgProfessor of Chemical Engineering Satish Parulekar was named the recipient of the 2016 Ernest W. Thiele Award from the Chicago Section of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). He was honored with the award for his significant original research contributions in chemical engineering, development of educational material for chemical engineers, teaching, leadership, and service activities related to AIChE and Illinois Tech. The accolade is one of the highest honors a distinguished chemical engineer can receive from the Chicago Section.

The award, sponsored by British Petroleum (BP), is presented annually by the AIChE Chicago Section to a Midwest region AIChE member who has made outstanding contributions to advance the practice of Chemical Engineering. This internationally recognized award consists of an engraved plaque and $1,000 honorarium presented at the Chicago AIChE sectional meeting.

Armour College of Engineering faculty members who have been recognized with the honor in the past include, Distinguished Motorola Professor of Chemical Engineering and Vice President for International Affairs Darsh Wasan (1989); Henry R. Linden Professor of Engineering and Director of the Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research (WISER) Hamid Arastoopour (1997); Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director of the Engineering Center for Diabetes Research and Education Ali Cinar (2003); and Distinguished Professor Emeritus Dimitri Gidaspow (2005).