Betts Honors Five with Dean’s Excellence Awards

Dean Betts with Professor John Zasadzinski

Russell Betts, dean of the College of Science and Letters, honored five college faculty and staff with Dean’s Excellence Awards on November 17. The winners were:

• Research/scholarship Award (Assistant professor): Igor Cialenco, assistant professor of applied mathematics, won for his groundbreaking work on statistical inference for Stochastic Partial Differential Equations – including one of the most difficult and important system of equation in mathematics and physics, the Navier-Stokes equations for fluid flow.

• Research/scholarship Award (Associate professor or professor): Xiang-Yang Li, associate professor of computer science, won for his work on cyber-physical systems and wastewater, classic research in the asymptotic capacity of large-scale wireless networks, and more.

• Teaching: Laura Hosman, assistant professor of political science, won for her classroom work and her exciting, innovative IPRO to support laptops for students in Haiti.

Dean Betts with CSL Undergraduate Summer Research Stipend Winners

• Service: Physics Professor John Zasadzinski won for his work as chair for five years of the former BCPS department and during the transition to the new standalone physics department.

• Staff: Susan Mallgrave, department coordinator, Lewis Department of Humanities, won for doing everything from budgeting to developing teaching schedules, from writing newsletters to organizing the department’s graduation ceremony.

Dean Betts also gave plaques to the winners of this year’s undergraduate summer research stipends, including Chris Kalnmals, Mike Machen, Elnaz Moshfeghian and Mansi Patel. Other stipend winners not present were Amy Rice, Christopher King and Daniel Kipp.