Computer Science Chair Xian-He Sun Elected IEEE Fellow

The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) has elected IIT Department of Computer Science Chair Xian-He Sun to its class of 2011 Fellows for contributions to memory-bounded performance metrics and scalable parallel computing. IEEE Fellowship is attained through nomination by peers and approval by the IEEE Board of Directors for distinction in the profession. Approximately 0.1% of the voting members of IEEE are elected by the Board of Directors every year to receive this honor, the highest membership grade in IEEE. IEEE is the world’s leading professional association for the advancement of technology.

Sun is a visiting scientist at the Computing Division at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, and a guest faculty in the Division of Mathematics and Computer Science at Argonne National Laboratory. He received his Ph.D. in computer science from Michigan State University in 1990. Before joining IIT, he worked at DoE Ames National Laboratory, at ICASE, NASA Langley Research Center, at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, and was an ASEE fellow at Navy Research Laboratories. He has published close to 200 publications in the area of computing and communication and has 4 patents in these areas.

Dedicated to the advancement of technology, the IEEE publishes 30 percent of the world’s literature in the electrical and electronics engineering and computer science fields, and has developed more than 900 active industry standards. The association also sponsors or co-sponsors nearly 400 international technical conferences each year.