Department of Chemistry Holds 2015-16 Student Awards Event

The Department of Chemistry held its fourth annual student awards luncheon on April 27. The following chemistry students received honors for 2015-16:

Chemistry Teaching Assistant Award
José Orozco, Ph.D. candidate
Zirui Zhang, Ph.D. candidate

Chemistry Undergraduate Junior Award
Nicholas Politis

Chemistry Undergraduate Senior Award
Dan Yin

Kilpatrick Fellowship
Matthew Weimer

Kilpatrick Undergraduate Scholarship
Paloma Corro
Dan Yin

In addition, Ph.D. candidate Naiwei Chi was awarded a Fanta travel grant to attend a conference in analytical chemistry. The Fanta Award is made possible through a generous gift from former Illinois Tech Chemistry Professor Paul E. Fanta. The Kilpatrick Fellowship and Scholarships are made possible through a generous gift from the Kilpatrick Trust to honor Martin and Mary Kilpatrick. Martin Kilpatrick served as chair of Illinois Tech’s Chemistry Department from 1947–1960. Mary Kilpatrick was a chemistry faculty member from 1947-1964.