Five Illinois Institute of Technology Faculty Members Receive Prestigious NSF CAREER Awards

Illinois Institute of Technology is the recipient of five prestigious Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Awards from the National Science Foundation (NSF) – the highest number of CAREER awards for Illinois Tech in any one academic year.

Among Illinois Tech’s distinguished group are four faculty members from Armour College of Engineering and one faculty member from the College of Science. The assistant professors are:

  • Lin Cai, department of electrical and computer engineering for Fundamental Studies of Sustainable Wireless Communication System Powered by Renewable Energy
  • Lili Du, department of civil, architectural and environmental engineering for Integrated Online Coordinated Routing and Decentralized Control for Connected Vehicle Systems
  • Carrie Hall, department of mechanical, materials, and aerospace engineering for Control of Advanced Fuel-Flexible Multi-Cylinder Engines
  • Ankit Srivastava, department of mechanical, materials, and aerospace engineering for Transformation Elastodynamics and its Application to Wave Control in Solids
  • Jeff Wereszczynski, department of physics for The Effects of Post-translational Modifications and Histone Variants on Chromatin Fiber Dynamics

The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations. Such activities should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research. NSF encourages submission of CAREER proposals from junior faculty members at all CAREER-eligible organizations and especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and persons with disabilities to apply.