IIT Architecture in Chicago Architecture Biennial

Photo Credit: Iwan Baan

Photo Credit: Iwan Baan

The Chicago Architecture Biennial has announced an initial slate of participating architecture firms for the inaugural program. The list includes several faculty members from the IIT College of Architecture.

John Ronan, Marshall Brown, Mauricio Pezo, Sofia von Ellrichshausen, Martin Felsen, and Amanda Williams are among the architects who will be taking part in the largest international survey of contemporary architecture in North America from Saturday, October 3, 2015, through Sunday, January 3, 2016.

“Our goal is to create an exhibition and public program that is meaningful to both the public and architecture professionals,” said Biennial Co-Artistic Director Sarah Herda in an announcement. “The Biennial is an incredible opportunity to present experimental and provocative architectural projects and ideas in a very public platform, and in a city that continues to be an inspiration to architects across the world.”

IIT College of Architecture students in the studio run by Pezo von Ellrichshausen, are also creating a lakefront kiosk as part of the Biennial. This commissioned kiosk, along with two others from other Chicago schools, will be displayed in Milleninium Park during the Biennial. In the spring of 2016 the commissioned kiosks, along with the winner of a separate Lakefront Kiosk Competition among architectural firms, will be installed on the lakefront.

“This collaboration provides an unprecedented opportunity for students to work with leading architects from around the world. These works of micro-architecture represent both the forefront and the future of the field, and will enrich our lakefront for years to come,” said Mayor Rahm Emanuel in a press announcement from the Chicago Architecture Biennial.

In addition, Jacques Herzog, principal of the firm Herzog & de Meuron, author of the MCHAP winning 1111 Lincoln Road, will deliver a lecture as part of the Biennial program. Details about date, time and venue for this lecture and other IIT College of Architecture programming will be announced soon.