IIT Chicago-Kent Returns to the National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition

Two teams from IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law will represent the law school in the fifth annual National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition.

The tournament, sponsored by DePaul University College of Law and the Lawyers’ Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation, will be held February 21 and 22 at the Everett McKinley Dirksen U.S. Courthouse in Chicago. IIT Chicago-Kent won the competition in 2011 and 2012.

The students will argue Wilcox v. United States, a hypothetical case involving the Convention on Cultural Property Implementation Act (CIPA). At issue is whether action taken under the CIPA by the assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs is subject to judicial review under the Administrative Procedure Act, and whether a person who knowingly imports or brings designated ethnological material into the United States in violation of import restrictions under the CIPA may be prosecuted under federal law.

Greg Dierdorf ’14, Malinda Pileggi ’15 and Arlo Walsman ’15 will compete on one team.

Greg Dierdorf '14, Malinda Pileggi '15 and Arlo Walsman '15.











The second team will comprise Paulina Lopez Caballero ’14, Kelly O’Neill ’15 and Hannah Tuber ’15.

Hannah Tuber '15, Kelly O'Neill '15 and Paulina Lopez Caballero '14











Team member Greg Dierdorf earned a degree in history with a minor in politcal science at Minnesota State University. Teammate Malinda Pileggi completed her undergraduate education in finance and economics at Loyola University Chicago. Teammate Arlo Walsman graduated from Eastern Michigan University with a bachelor of arts degree in political science. The team is coached by third-year students Daisy Ayllon and Jake Berger who competed in last year’s tournament.

Team member Paulina Lopez Caballero is an advanced-standing student who earned her law degree from Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico. Teammate Kelly O’Neill graduated summa cum laude from Texas Tech University with a degree in political science. Teammate Hannah Tuber graduated cum laude with a degree in acting from the Theatre School at DePaul University. Third-year students Dustin Karrison and Alex Stephens, members of last year’s IIT Chicago-Kent team, serve as coaches.