IIT Chicago-Kent to Defend its Championship in the National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition

(L-R) Joshua Lurie, Kirtana Kalavapudi and Sinjan Bose (Photo by David Durochik)

IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law will defend its championship and best brief honors in the third annual National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition. The tournament, sponsored by DePaul University College of Law and the Lawyers’ Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation, will be held February 24 and 25 at the Everett McKinley Dirksen U.S. Courthouse in Chicago.

This year’s competition will address two issues related to the federal Theft of Major Artwork Act. The first focuses on Congress’ constitutional authority to regulate interstate commerce; the second deals with the statutory interpretation of the law.

Third-year students Sinjan Bose, Joshua Lurie and Kirtana Kalavapudi will compete on one of IIT Chicago-Kent’s teams. The second IIT Chicago-Kent team will comprise second-year students Richard Poskozim and Filip Zucek.

(L-R) Richard Poskozim and Filip Zucek (Photo by David Durochik)

The Honorables William J. Bauer and Diane P. Wood of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit and the Honorable Mary L. Mikva of the Circuit Court of Cook County will judge the final round of the competition.