In Memoriam of IIT Armour College of Engineering Alumnus Ted Belytschko

Ted Belytschko

Ted Belytschko

IIT Armour College of Engineering Alumnus Ted B. Belytschko, Ph.D., passed away September 15, 2014. Ted received his B.S. in Engineering Sciences in 1965, finishing first in class. He went on to earn his Ph.D. in Mechanics from IIT in 1968 while working as a consultant to the Structures Research group at IITRI. After earning his Ph.D., Ted went on to teach for several years at the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) before establishing himself at Northwestern University.

Ted was an accomplished Walter P. Murphy Professor and McCormick Distinguished Professor of Computational Mechanics. He was a respected teacher and mentor, and had an international reputation for his research activities. As the recipient of countless honors and awards (listed below), Ted was a highly sought after consultant and a prolific writer and author of both books and hundreds of professional articles.

Visitation will be held 3-9 p.m. on Friday, September 19, 2014. His funeral service will be held at 10 a.m. on Saturday, September 20, 2014at Donnellan Family Funeral Home, 10045 Skokie Boulevard at Old Orchard Road in north suburban Skokie. Interment will be at Memorial Park Cemetery in Skokie. For more information call 847.675.1990 or visit the Donnellan website.


  • The USACM Structures award renamed the Belytschko Medal for Computational Solid and Structural Mechanics, November 2012
  • Elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 2011
  • William Prager Medal, Society of Engineering Science, 2011
  • Denhartog Lecture, “Multiscale Analysis of Failure,” MIT, April 2, 2010
  • Appointed Editor-in-Chief, International Journal for Numerical Methods in Engineering, (Jan. 1, 2008)
  • The ASME Applied Mechanics Award renamed the ASME Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Division Award, November 2007
  • Life Member, American Society of Civil Engineers, January 1, 2008
  • Re-elected Vice-President, International Association of Computational Mechanics, 2008
  • Honorary Doctorate, INSA, Lyon, (Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon), September 2006
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2002
  • U. S. National Academy of Engineering, elected 1992
  • Gauss Newton Medal, 2002, International Association for Computational Mechanics
  • Timoshenko Medal, 2001, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • ISI citation record (as of 1/1/2010) 16,983 citations, H-index: H70
    Named in ISI Database of 93 most highly cited engineering researchers – 2000/2001
  • 4th most cited researcher in engineering in past decade, ISI, January 2004
  • Named in original ISI Database of 200 most highly cited researchers in their field – 2000/2001
  • John von Neumann Medal, U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics, August 2001
  • Theodore Von Karman Medal, American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), 1999
  • Melvin Baron Medal, Shock and Vibration Information Analysis Center, 1999
  • Honorary Doctorate, University of Liege, 1997
  • Honorary Doctorate, Ecole Normale, Paris 2004
  • ASME/Boeing 2003 Structures & Materials Award for Best Paper, “Large Deformation Atomistic-Based Continuum Analysis of Carbon Nanotubes,” co-authored with Dr. Marino Arroyo, presented by ASME, April 2003
  • Structural Computational Mechanics Award, U.S. Assn for Computational Mechanics, 1997
  • ICES Medal (Int. Conf. on Computational Engineering and Sciences), 1997
  • Computational Mechanics Award, Japanese Soc. of Mechanical Engineers, 1994
  • ASCE Structural Dynamics and Materials Award, 1990
  • Thomas Jaeger Prize, International Assn for Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology, 1983
  • Walter Huber Research Prize, American Society of Civil Engineers, 1977
  • Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1975
  • Fellow, American Academy of Mechanics, elected 1979
  • Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, elected 1978
  • Fellow, American Association for Advancement of Science, elected 1989
  • NDEA Fellow, 1965-1968
  • First in class, IIT, 1965