Inaugural MCHAP Finalists Announced

Kenneth Frampton, Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize (MCHAP) Jury President, announced the seven inaugural MCHAP finalists at a public event in Santiago, Chile held on July 9, 2014. The winner of the inaugural MCHAP will be announced at the MCHAP Conference on Wednesday, October 22, 2014 in Chicago.

The finalists are:
• 1111 Lincoln Road in Miami, Florida by Herzog & de Meuron
• Altamira Residential Building in Rosaria, Argentina by Rafael Iglesia
• Capilla del Retiro in Auco, Los Andes, Chile by Undurraga Deves Arquitectos (Cristián Undurraga)
• Iberê Camargo Foundation in Porto Alegre, Brazil by Álvaro Siza Vieira
• Mestizo Restaurant in Santiago, Chile by Smiljan Radic
• Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Bloch Building in Kansas City, Missouri by Steven Holl Architects
• Seattle Central Library, in Seattle, Washington, by OMA / LMN – Rem Koolhaas and Joshua Prince-Ramus (Partner in Charge)

MCHAP was founded by Wiel Arets, Dean of the College of Architecture at IIT to honor the best built work in the Americas. The prize was launched in February with Phyllis Lambert at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal and Dirk Denison, MCHAP Director and Professor in the College of Architecture at IIT.

“These seven built works are creative responses to the challenges of building in the 21st Century here in the Americas,” Arets said. “By highlighting them as MCHAP finalists, we wish to focus the public conversation on the opportunities of the modern metropolis – we seek to create a hub and it is our ambition to create a dialogue, that unites architects working in the Americas, but at the same time opens the discourse with others involved in the discipline around the world.”

View for more information.