Carlo Segre, Duchossois Leadership Professor of Physics, Named AAAS Fellow

Carlo Segre, Duchossois Leadership Professor of Physics, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year, 388 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The 2013 AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on November 29, 2013.

As part of the Section on Engineering, Segre was elected as an AAAS Fellow for his distinguished contributions to materials science and engineering, particularly high temperature superconductivity and development of facilities for synchrotron radiation studies of electrochemical and catalytic systems.

Segre, who also serves as Deputy Director of the Materials Research Collaborative Access Team (MRCAT) at Argonne National Laboratory, Director of the Center for Synchrotron Radiation Research and Instrumentation (CSRRI), Deputy Director of the Biophysics Collaborative Access Team (BioCAT) at Argonne, received his B.S. in Physics and Chemistry from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and his M.S. and Ph. D. in Physics from University of California, San Diego. He is an active member of the American Physical Society, American Chemical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, President of the IIT chapter of Sigma Xi, and Fellow of the International Centre for Diffraction Data. Segre is working with a team of researchers from IIT and Argonne National Laboratory on a $3.4 million award from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA-E) to develop a breakthrough battery technology that could more than double the current range of electric vehicles.