Staff Excellence Award Winners

Illinois Tech President Alan W. Cramb announced the winners of the Staff Excellence Awards at the spring 2017 university-wide faculty and staff President’s Update, which took place on March 9. The awards honor those who provide distinguished service to the Illinois Tech community (staff, students or community as a whole) and exhibit exemplary leadership on strategic initiatives at the university level.

President Alan W. Cramb and Gladis Herst

The winner of the rookie award was:

  • Gladis Herst, Office of the Vice Provost for Student Access, Success, and Diversity Initiatives

“This individual demonstrated a commitment to diversity and excellence and resource management by creating the division’s website and blog when neither existed. She developed extensive curricular materials for the STEM Launch program, posted that information on Creative Commons and developed a link to the division website so that at all could benefit from the educational programming offered.”

President Alan W. Cramb and Dawn Young

The winner of the individual award was:

  • Dawn Young, Office of the Dean, Chicago-Kent College of Law

“This individual demonstrated a focus on students and heightened the Illinois Tech reputation by providing leadership to the Solo & Small Practice Incubator (SSPI) at Chicago-Kent College of Law. The program has become one of the most innovate post-graduate programs at the Law school. It has garnered attention from Crain’s Chicago Business, Illinois Bar Journal, Chicago Lawyer, and even a mention on the Spanish television network, Univision.”

From left: Muqadas Munir, Kathryn Potts, President Alan W. Cramb, Andrea Watkins, and Molly McCaughey

The winners of the team award were:

  • Andrea Watkins – director, Office of Student Employment
  • Muqadas Munir – student employment specialist, Office of Student Employment
  • Kathryn Potts – student employment specialist, Office of Student Employment
  • Molly McCaughey – project manager, Office of Student Employment

“This team demonstrated a focus on students and fostered leadership and ethical decision-making by implementing a monthly education series for supervisors to empower them to become better leaders. In addition, the team hosted a National Student Employee Day, recognizing students and supervisors for service and excellence.”

  • Staff Excellence Awards Selection Committee Members
  • Ariana Monroe – Chicago-Kent College of Law Administration
  • Devon Hall – Office of Professional Development
  • Elizabeth Zeigler – Office of Financial Aid
  • Courtney Budd – Department of Athletics
  • Ben Bozzetti – Controller’s Office