Two Illinois Tech Professors Named 2016 AAAS Fellows

Armour College of Engineering’s Mohammad Shahidehpour and College of Science’s Ali Khounsary have been named 2016 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

shahidehpour2Shahidehpour, Bodine Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Director of the Robert W. Galvin Center for Electricity Innovation, and Associate Director of the Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research, was cited as receiving the honor for his renowned contributions to the field of electric power engineering, particularly to the design of renewable energy sources, energy sustainability, power grid modernization, and microgrids.

Shahidehpour received his B.S. in electrical engineering from Sharif University of Technology and his M.S. in electrical engineering and Ph.D. from the University of Missouri. His research expertise includes power system operation and planning, microgrids and energy hubs as well as sustainable energy integration. He is an IEEE Fellow (2001) and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering (2016). View the Robert W. Galvin Center for Electricity Innovation website more information about Shahidehpour’s research.

khounsary_150wKhounsary, a research professor of physics and member of the Center for Synchrotron Radiation Research and Instrumentation (CSRRI), was honored for exceptional contributions to the engineering and technology of third-generation synchrotron radiation sources, and to the heat transfer and x-ray optics communities.

Khounsary received his B.Sc. in nuclear engineering from the University of London and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Energy Engineering and Mechanical Engineering from the University of Illinois. His area of expertise includes X-ray optics, X-ray techniques and instrumentation, optical engineering, thermal management, and optomechanical system design, development, and fabrication. He is a fellow of SPIE (2000) and ASME (2014), and holds several US patents. He has served as an associate editor of Optical Engineering and X-Ray Optics and Instrumentation, and is currently an associate editor of the Journal of Heat Transfer.

The organization annually elects members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

This year, 391 members worldwide have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The 2016 AAAS fellows will be recognized at the AAAS 2017 Annual Meeting.