2020 Student Award Winners

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff,

As we reflect on the tremendous academic accomplishments of the last semester, I’d like to applaud the outstanding efforts of the students who received awards, fellowships, and prizes this past year. These high achievers from across disciplines have been recognized for their academic excellence, innovation, creativity, and perseverance. We hope that accomplishments such as these will continue as these students further their studies or pursue careers as Illinois Tech alumni.

Please join me in congratulating the below list of student award recipients:


    • Dr. Bhakta B. & Sushama Rath Endowed Research Award: Alireza Kondori 


  • Armour R&D Undergraduate Research Awards
    • Judges’ Awards 1st Place: Yonguk Lee, “Wear-Resistant Coating of Copper for Energy Applications”
    • Popular Vote Award: 1st Place: Yogi Patel, “Inverted Pendulum Aerofoil in a Flow Field” 



    • Samuel Horwitz Memorial Scholarship: Helen Leach, Davis Housman, and Tianjiao Wang
    • Dwight T. Black Memorial Scholarship: Zexin “Tarry” Gu, Daniel Nguyen, and Tammy Phan
    • Nagle/Hartray Scholarship: Yiti “Alice” Gao
    • Jerrold and Ruth Veil Loebl Fellowship Prize: Simran Motwani, Chitan Shah, and Benvadee Wangtrakudee
    • The Brothers Finfer Scholarship: Abdallah Al-Quadsi, Sheena Artajo, and Amandeep Panach
    • George Danforth Traveling Fellowship: Erin Conti, Jingyu Jwa, Seong Cheol Kim, Curtis MacIver, Boram Oh, Branden Pentico, Morgan Wynne, Yujin Yang, and Annalise Zorn
    • Jerrold Loebl Fellowship Traveling Prize: Alexis AriasBetancourt, Rachel Starr, and Jing Yao


  • Fleischman Family Awards for Excellence in Criminal Clinic: Adrian Delgado and Dominica Puglise
  • Marc A. Grinker Outstanding Student Commitment Award: Eva Dickey
  • Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize: Molly Carr
  • Gary Laser Professionalism Award: Enrique Espinoza
  • Sandra P. Zemm Labor Law Prize: Amy Cortez
  • Justice John Paul Stevens Fellowships: Shaunagh McGoldrick and Zachery Taylor



  • Applied Mathematics
      • Menger Award for Outstanding Graduate Scholarship: Min-Jhe Lu
      • Menger Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Scholarship: Aleksei Sorokin
      • Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Gunjan Sharma
      • Clinton E. Stryker Distinguished Service Award: Rena Haswah
    • Chemistry
      • Undergraduate Junior Award: Aaron Gregory
      • Undergraduate Senior Award: Ashton Dato
      • Teaching Assistant Award: Damola Taye Shuaib
      • Chemistry Department Service Award: Young Ju Yun
      • Kilpatrick Scholarship Recipients: William Blodgett, Victoria Sabo, and Abigail Schulz
      • Kilpatrick Fellow: Youwen Zhang


  • Computer Science
    • Best Student Paper: Christopher Hannon, “A Distributed Virtual Time System on Embedded Linux for Evaluating Cyber-Physical Systems”
    • Best Undergraduate Teaching Assistant: Abigail Schulz
    • Best Graduate Teaching Assistant: Gong Chen and Alexandru Orhean 




    • Poster Category: 1st Place: Ursula Hersh and Allan Bastea
    • Video Category: 1st Place: Jessalena Lee
    • Edwin H. Lewis Prize for Nonfiction: 1st Place: Calvin Graham, “Zero”
    • Edwin H. Lewis Prize for Fiction: 1st Place: Rachel Starr, “Learned Helplessness”
    • Mollie S. Cohen Prize for Poetry: 1st Place: Rachel Starr, “What We Pour Today”
    • Henry and Myrna Knepler Freshman Essay Prize: 1st Place: Elizabeth Paniagua, “The Development of Evolving Feminism”
  • Psychology
    • 2020 Outstanding Student Awards Winners
      • Undergraduate: Jessica Park
      • Master’s: Christine Rheingten
      • Ph.D.: Hayley Perelman


  • M.P.A. Student of the Year Award: Yan “Grace” Zhang



  • Information Technology and Management
    • Outstanding Student in the Master of Cyber Forensics and Security Degree: David Miles Sobel
    • Outstanding Student in the MITM Computer and Information Security Curriculum: Clement Lefeu
    • Outstanding Student in the MITM Data Analytics and Management Curriculum: Ridhima Kishor Bhalerao
    • Outstanding Student in the MITM Information Technology Infrastructure Curriculum: Kyle D. Willett
    • Outstanding Student in the MITM Management and Entrepreneurship Curriculum: Yewande A. Ogunedina
    • Outstanding Student in the MITM of Management Information Systems Curriculum: Vih Modeste Dogo
    • Outstanding Student in the MITM Software Development Curriculum: Jordan Cloud
    • Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Information Technology and Management/Master of Cyber Forensics and Security Accelerated Master’s Degrees: Jacob A. Krupa
    • Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Information Technology and Management/Master of Information Technology and Management Accelerated Master’s Degrees: Modupeoreoluwa Omolara Olotu
    • Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Information Technology and Management Degree: Jacob Gerald Huebner
    • Outstanding First-Year Undergraduate Student: Nandi Patel

Congratulations to these students for their incredible achievements over the course of the last year.


Peter Kilpatrick
Provost, Illinois Institute of Technology