47th Annual IIT Lewis Department of Humanities Undergraduate Writing Contest Winners

Our thanks to all the IIT students who submitted work in this year’s contest. A lunch reception to recognize the talent of these students and to award Amazon gift cards will be held at 12:30 pm on Wednesday, April 11  in the Collens Welcome Center of the MTCC.

The winning entries for spring 2012:

Freshman Essay Prize
1st: Matthew Seludo (Chemistry)
The Alchemist with a Thousand Lessons
2nd: Dane Christianson (Mechanical Engineering)
The Psychology of Happiness

Edwin H. Lewis Prize For Non-Fiction
1st: Mike Purdy (Journalism of Technology, Science, and Business)
Revolutionary Persuasion
2nd: Joannas Joseph (Chemical Engineering)
Positivism… Good or Bad?
3rd: Monica Samelson (Molecular Biochemistry & Biophysics)
Eleven Words That Sound Like “Orange”: What Vietnamese Language Taught Me About Cultural Relativism

Edwin H. Lewis Prize For Fiction
1st: Irina Papuc (Physics)
Lastovya Lost
2nd: Jeffrey Wigen (Architecture)
The Boy by the Bedside
3rd: Samiat Jinadu (Psychology)
Mamma’s Wish

Mollie Cohen Poetry Prize
1st: Obinna Okechukwu (Computer Engineering)
Penumbra; The Puppeteer; Flooding; Midnight; A Quarrel with Zero
2nd: Scott Michael Slone (Materials, Science, & Engineering)
The Man on the Bench
3rd: Allen White (Business Administration)
Yore Decadence