Cyberhawks Place 2nd in Illinois State National Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition Qualifier

Six Illinois Tech Cyberhawks team members smile in a line in front of two monitors.

Left to Right: Nicholas Quigley, Lucas Ferguson, Joanna Findura, Kat Stevens, Przemek Warias, and David Arnold

The ECE Department is excited to announce that our Illinois Tech Cyberhawks team placed second in this year’s Illinois State National Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition, (CCDD) Qualifier Event, on Saturday, February 17. We are exceptionally proud of our team for their determination, time management, and skill throughout the day on Saturday. Cyberhawks were able to have this impressive win without having a full team. Each team consists of eight players and the CyberHawks team included six players:

  1. David Arnold (Computer Engineering)(M.S., PhD. CPE)
  2. Przemyslaw Warias (B.S./M.S Computer Science)
  3. Kat Stevens (Applied Information Technology Management)
  4. Nicholas Quigley (B.S. Applied Information Technology Management)
  5. Joanna Findura (B.S./M.S.Computer and Cybersecurity Engineering)
  6. Lucas Ferguson (B.S/MAS Computer Science)

Cyber Hawks are expected to compete in this year’s Midwest Wildcard event on Saturday, February 24, for a chance to advance to this year’s Midwest Regional event.