Food Science and Nutrition Faculty Members Honored

Two Illinois Tech professors in the Department of Food Science and Nutrition were honored during an Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) meeting on June 3 in New Orleans. Illinois Tech’s Assistant Professor Kathiravan Krishnamurthy and Professor Jason Wan were among the experts recognized by the division. In addition, Wan was recognized with the Outstanding Volunteer Award and Krishnamurthy was recognized for his service as the division chair.

The IFT’s nonthermal processing division celebrated its 20th anniversary during the meeting. As part of the celebration, 24 nonthermal processing experts around the world who significantly contributed to the advancement of nonthermal processing and nonthermal processing division were recognized.

The IFT is one of the largest non-profit scientific society of food science and technology in the world with more than 17,000 members from over 95 countries. The nonthermal processing division is a tight-knit group of more than 1,500 members across the world interested in the advancement of nonthermal processing technologies for ensuring safety, quality, and nutrition.

Tatiana Koutchma, chair of the Division of Nonthermal Processing, presents a plaque to Kathiravan Krishnamurthy, former chair, in recognition of his services to the division. 

Kathiravan Krishnamurthy presents Jason Wan with the Outstanding Volunteer Award.