Jason Wan Elected as Fellow of International Academy of Food Science and Technology

jason wanJason Wan, professor of Food Science and Nutrition and associate director of the Institute for Food Safety and Health (IFSH), has been elected by the International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) to the 14th class of the International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST). Wan and the other 24 new fellows will be introduced by the Academy Executive Council, led by Dr. Charles Aworh, academy president, at the 22nd World Congress of Food Science and Technology to be held in Rimini, Italy, on September 8–12, 2024.

Nominations for each new roster are made by IAFoST Fellows and/or IUFoST Adhering Bodies. Those elected to IAFoST by the Fellows of the Academy are acknowledged by their peers as outstanding representatives of international food science and technology.

The International Academy of Food Science (IAFoST) collectively forms a diverse pool of scientific expertise in food science and technology and related disciplines from which IUFoST draws non-aligned expert advice on scientific matters. Fellows serve as independent professional leaders who engage and endorse high standards of ethics and scientific endeavors.

Dr. Wan also serves as the Director for the Food Safety Preventive Controls Alliance (FSPCA). Dr. Wan’s scientific expertise includes emerging food processing technologies (high pressure processing, pulsed electric field, cool plasma, ultrasound, pulsed light and microwave) for food safety applications, antimicrobials, molecular microbiology, and dairy processing. Dr. Wan served as a supervisor for numerous Ph.D. and numerous M.S. students, and is an author of over 200 scientific publications and invited conference presentations. Dr. Wan served as the Coordinator-North Asia for the International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) (2003-2008) and a member of the IUFoST Nominations Advisory Committee (2008-2015), a subcommittee member of the International Commission on Microbiological Specifications for Foods (ICMSF) (2004-2015), the Chair for the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Nonthermal Processing Division (NPD) (2016-2017), and the President for the Chinese American Food Society (2017-2018). Dr. Wan also served on the Editorial Board of Journal of Food Protection (2011-2014), and was a guest editor for Trends in Food Science and Technology, Innovative Food Science and Emerging Technologies, and Food Control journals.